Marcello Mastroianni Award

The "Marcello Mastroianni Award" is one of the awards given out at the Venice Film Festival, since the lagoon film review was born in 1932, instituted in 1998 in honor of the great Italian actor Marcello Mastroianni who passed away in 1996.

The award was created to acknowledge an emerging actor or actress, and can be compared to the "Volpi Cup", the award for Best Actor and Best Actress.

List of Award Winners

  • 1998 Niccolò Senni for "L’albero delle pere" (Shooting the Moon)
  • 1999 Nina Proll for "Nordrand"
  • 2000 Megan Burns for "Liam"
  • 2001 Gael García Bernal and Diego Luna for "Y tu mamá también" (And Your Mother Too)
  • 2002 Moon So-ri for "Oasis"
  • 2003 Najat Benssallem for "Raja"
  • 2004 Marco Luisi and Tommaso Ramenghi for "Lavorare con lentezza – Radio Alice 100.6 MHz"
  • 2005 Menothy Cesar for "Vers le Sud" (Heading South)
  • 2006 Isild Le Besco for “L’intouchable”
  • 2007 Hafsia Herzi for “Cous cous (La graine e le mulet)”
  • 2008 Jennifer Lawrence for “The Burning Plain”
  • 2009 Jasmine Trinca for “Il grande sogno (the big dream)”
  • 2010 Mila Kunis for “Black Swan”
  • 2011 Shòta Sometani and Fumi Nikaido for “Himizu”
  • 2012 Fabrizio Falco for “Bella Addormentata” and “E’ stato mio figlio”